FeedbackFruits sends out notification emails about things happening in learning activities. You will also see these notifications in the FeedbackFruits notification center. In this article we will explain for what kind of activity you will receive notifications.
For email notifications to be send out, the assignment has to:
- Be opened by at least three students or 10% of the students in the assignment;
- Have a student that has less than a 100% completion rate .
We have set these requirements, so users can set up demo assignments without triggering a notification whenever they make a change.
Every day around 18.00 hour (local server time) we will send out a summary mail to users, notifying them about important things that have happened in their FeedbackFruits activities in the last 24 hours. When nothing new has happened, we will not send an email.
We include the following types of notifications in this summary mail:
If a student has unfinished work, a reminder will be included in the summary mail. Students will get this notification latest 12 and earliest 36 hours before the deadline, depending on the time of the deadline. This email contains a link to the assignment. In case a student has never accessed the assignment through the LMS up until receiving this email, the link is disabled and instead will contain the message that the student should navigate to the assignment in the LMS.
Students will get a notification when they receive a new feedback comment or rating.
Replies to comments or uploads
Users will get notifications about replies on their comments or upload.
- Replies on comments: the user who left the comment will receive a notification. Also, when someone replied to a comment they will get notified about new replies in the thread.
- New comments and questions which are added to Interactive Document, Video, Audio or Comprehension: the teacher will receive a notification.
Announcements (platform only)
This is only applicable to users of the 2.0 platform and not for people who use FeedbackFruits within their LMS.
It is possible to unsubscribe for these emails at the bottom of the email. Please note that if you unsubscribe, you will not receive any of the notifications mentioned above, including the deadline reminders. Want to re-subscribe? Please contact our support through the Intercom (blue bubble in the lower left corner).
We also send out some notifications instantly:
For LMS and platform 2.0 users:
New chat messages
The receiver of the chat message will get a notification (maximum of one per day).
Only for platform 2.0 users:
- Invitations for courses or course groups (maximum of one email per day until online)
- Invitations for direct groups (always)
- Reminders for courses, course group or direct group invitations (always, can be send by teachers)
You can unsubscribe for each of these notification categories separately by clicking on the link at the bottom of the email.
After clicking on the link
When clicking on the link in the email, you will be navigated to the assignment*. If you use FeedbackFruits within your LMS, you will first have to log in to your LMS to view the new activity.
If you use our platform, you will be automatically logged in with your FeedbackFruits account. This way you can navigate to the action of the notification right away. Your FeedbackFruits account is connected to the email account where you receive the notifications and the link with automatic login will work for 14 days, after that period you will need to login with your account details.
*For some LMS users clicking on the link might not bring them directly to the assignment, but we are currently working on improving this.
You can find the notification center in the top bar of a FeedbackFruits assignment (see screenshot below). Here you will be able to read the notifications related to this assignment. By clicking on one of the notifications, you will be directed to where the activity took place. For example, to your comment that someone replied to.
All of the notifications that are included in the summary notification email (see above) will also appear in the notification center. In the notification center, students will only receive a notification about being reviewed once - after the teacher or a peer has finished reviewing them. If a student receives a new comment, this will be included in the summary email.